# WYRE FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL

# THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE, STOURPORT-ON-SEVERN 29TH JULY 2009 (6 PM)

## Present for all or part of the meeting:

Councillor John Aston Councillor Michael Kelly Councillor Jeffrey Baker Councillor Rachel Lewis Councillor Graham Ballinger Councillor Howard Martin Councillor Arthur Buckley Councillor Susan Meekings Councillor John-Paul Campion Councillor David Millis Councillor Stephen Clee Councillor Christopher Nicholls Councillor Nathan Desmond Councillor Fran Oborski Councillor Helen Dvke Councillor Tracev Onslow Councillor Peter Dyke Councillor Michael Partridge Councillor Howard Eeles Councillor Julian Phillips Councillor Brian Glass Councillor Mike Price Councillor Douglas Godwin Councillor Ken Prosser Councillor Jenny Greener Councillor Mike Salter Councillor Paul Harrison Councillor Michael Shellie Councillor Marcus Hart Councillor Dixon Sheppard Councillor Pauline Hayward Councillor Kenneth Stokes Councillor Siriol Hayward Councillor John Thomas Councillor Malcolm Hazlewood Councillor Nigel Thomas Councillor Anne Hingley Councillor Stephen Williams Councillor Gordon Yarranton Councillor John Holden

## CM.33 Minute's Silence and Prayers

The meeting commenced with a minute's silence in memory of the late Councillor Jill Fairbrother – Millis. This was followed by prayers read by the Reverend Eva McIntyre of St Michaels and All Angels and Wilden Stourport on Severn.

Councillor Campion lead the tributes to Councillor Fairbrother - Millis, acknowledging her individual style and passion for her work as a Councillor.

Councillor Martin also spoke in praise of Councillor Fairbrother–Millis commending her strength of purpose, beliefs and kindness

The tributes continued with eulogies from Councillor Kelly, Helen Dyke and Oborski all of whom praised Councillor Fairbrother–Millis's effectiveness as a Councillor, her contribution towards the community and her determination, kindness and sense of humour.

Council was also updated on the recovery of Alderman Simmonds and Members wished him a speedy recovery.

Walter Delin the Chief Executive, left the meeting.

#### CM.34 Exclusion of the Press and Public

Decision: Under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting during the consideration of the following items of business, on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of 'exempt information' as defined in paragraphs 1,2,3 and 4 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act.

The following proceedings were considered after the press and public had been excluded from the meeting.

#### CM.35 Retirement and Recruitment

The Council received a report (copies of which were tabled) on retirement and recruitment.

The meeting ended at 18:20